Prince Nimbus

In need of a distraction, I have been on the lookout for a kitten for JJ, since he lost his ol’buddy Tang last month. JJ wasn’t too sure about any of the prospects I had found for him until… he heard this little guys story.

IMG_1341

Okay, a couple of weekends ago, I had to run into Pets Mart to grab something real quick. But you know how they have the cat and dog adoptions going on there on the weekends? Yea, I try to avoid them because we all know I’m such a sucker for cuteness! Well, I had my mind on other things that day, and forgot all about the fact that it was an adoption day. Suddenly, there was a whole cage of little kittens in front of me, so… I paused to check them out. I didn’t see any white ones (JJ has been very specific that he wanted a white, male kitten.) and so I started to head on by when a lady asked if she could help me. I told her no… that we were looking for a white one, and they didn’t have any. She lit up like a Christmas tree and said that they had one, but he was just not ready to bring out yet.

IMG_1351

Apparently, someone brought him in the week before, after witnessing him being thrown from a car window as it was speeding down a busy road.

He was checked out and had no broken bones, but was in very poor shape.

We were able to adopt him a week later, although technically he was not ready to be adopted. Seems he was not doing well in the foster home he was in (Due to one lady trying to take care of too many kittens at once. With several others, plus five to bottle feed, she was overwhelmed and he kind’of got left on the back burner – so to speak.) and they asked if we would be willing to deal with some of his health issues and the poor condition that he was in. Heck yes!

IMG_1342

He came to us covered with fleas, had many sores from said fleas, was skinny as a rail, and stank to the high heavens. They said he was about 8-9 weeks old by looking at his teeth development, but looks a whole lot younger due to neglect.

He is still struggling with worms, and we haven’t been able to put any weight on him yet. (He only weighs 1 lb, 6 oz.) We are going back to the vet tomorrow to see what else they can do for him.

But even with all the mistreatment, starvation, sores, sickness and neglect he has endured in his very short life… this little guy is a SWEETHEART!

We just LOVE him.

IMG_1812

Everyone in the whole family is enamored with him. We just can’t stop looking at him. The other day JJ said, “Nim’s cuteness is liable to kill me. I just don’t know how I’m going to survive it!” :) In this photo below, JJ was holding him in the car, on the way to the vets office yesterday. He just laid in his lap and played. He totally trusted that we were going to take care of him and NOT throw him out the window or leave him.

He knows that he has found his forever home!

IMG_1823

Although it seems as though I would already have enough to do around here, I am happy to have this little bundle to help take care of and love. He is a cuddle bug, and looks into your eyes like he can read what you are thinking!

IMG_1822

I’m so happy that JJ was able to find such a wonderful little guy to help fill the void of missing Tang. (And Papa)

So, with all the sadness that’s hanging on around here… it has been softened a bit by a tiny, fluffy, white cloud of pure preciousness! Papa would have sure loved him.

IMG_1340

And to the people who threw him out the window… karma. That’s all I have to say about that.DSC_0005hi-d

:)

1 Comment

Filed under Critters

One response to “Prince Nimbus

  1. Michael

    Super WAY COOL!!! Story made my day.

Leave a Reply

