Truly Christmas 2013

We had our annual Truly Christmas event last night at our church. It turned out wonderful. Good food, good people and good music! The group that came to play for us was called Purely Acoustic. Three sisters who truly have a love for and the gift of music. It was a blessing to listen to them.

DSC_0298

I haven’t heard yet how much we raised last night, but our charity’s this year were One Roof and PTC Women’s Ministry. The Women’s Ministry makes heart shaped pillows for breast cancer patients. They supply several hospitals in our area.

My three youngest boys were servers once again, along with their dad. The boys fuss about it a little right before we have to head to the church, (I think it’s more about having to wear those ties! LOL!) but once there, they are happy and pleasant. Plus, they enjoy any bit of time they can have with their friends.

DSC_0281

DSC_0278

They immediately head into “help” mode when it is over and help me gather my stuff, load the car, and assist anyone else they see that needs it. (I think it’s mostly so we can get out of there and go home quicker, but… it’s still helpful!) I thank them profusely for helping me out with the event on the way home, and they seem happy that they did it.

Guy and JJ started serving when they were 7 & 8 (I believe), so this is old-hat to them. This sure helps them out if they ever decide to wait tables for pay! Harrison didn’t get to start until he was 11, but this was his second year and he got to team up with his best friend Tucker. They did a great job.

My only regret (and it seems that it is this every year) is, not getting enough pictures. So busy greeting people and making sure everything is going well, that I don’t get to think about what I might want in a picture later. :(

At least I got these.

DSC_0255 (2)

DSC_0260

I only ended up having to make one snowman. And THANK GOODNESS! I never would have gotten them both done. It was a long and tedious process. A great medium for smaller projects, but just too much for something this size. Here is where I got the recipe Paper Mache Clay. Then I painted him white, sprinkled white glitter all over him, and finished it up with Mod Podge sealer. It’s heavy.

IMG_2584

DSC_0288

The snowman looked pretty good on the stage, but ended up being kind of hidden with the various instruments of the musicians. Ahh well, Frosty will be there through December, so he will get lots of stage time!

Here are the 300 ornaments in baskets ready to pass out at the end of the evening. I did not have to tie all the red bows and stars on them. A special thanks to the other ladies that did that part! And a thank you to Becky and Branndan for helping fill them.

Learned how to do these here.

IMG_2600

IMG_2626

I pulled my cabin out of retirement this year. Dusted it off, patched it up and fixed the little smoke motor in the chimney. Oh, and I got some hot chocolate scented smoke oil for it. Smelled wonderful!

DSC_0267

DSC_0291

Can you see the smoke coming up the chimney?

DSC_0309

DSC_0308

Mailbox on the cabin centerpiece

I had a nice group of ladies at my table and enjoyed the evening very much.

DSC_0299

Good times, great friends!

IMG_1513

Next year I will not be on the TC committee, so will have more time to spend in my studio making a new centerpiece. I am SO looking forward to that! :)

(Update on the studio progress coming soon.)

IMG_1514M

My hair! I did an up-do deal. I had to watch about 4 tutorials to even attempt it. But for my first one… I think it came out okay.

IMG_2621

Now to clean up my messes and get ready for Thanksgiving! So grateful it went well and that it is over. :)

Maybe now I could hibernate through the rest of the winter. Please?

:)

hi-d

5 Comments

Filed under Art Projects, Christmas Time, The boys

5 responses to “Truly Christmas 2013

  1. Sandra Fletcher

    Heidi: meant to tell you what a great job your boys did and that I liked your cabin table. You hair was so cute. You should do that more often. Brought 2 of my neighbors and they were amazed at the whole program. Happy ThanksgivingSandra

    Date: Mon, 25 Nov 2013 18:35:42 +0000 To: sfletch14@hotmail.com

  2. Wanda Johnson

    Heidi, it was wonderful!!! I was so glad I got to go. You work so hard and it is so appreciated because everything you do is just beautiful! I don’t know what they will do without your creative ideas next year, but I know they will manage. I am sure you need a break! The rest of your family did a great job and the boys looked so handsome–actually, all of them did a great job! Love your hair! Happy Thanksgiving! Thank you for being my friend! Wanda

  3. Michael

    Heidi

    Sounds like you had a good time… I am so happy for you…

  4. Benjamin

    Great update Heidi! Looking forward to the studio action!
    Someone in Kansas is praying for you and your awesome family always :-)

Leave a Reply

