Dragons and Fruits, Fruits and Dragons

Last week we ate an unusual fruit. This came about from our shopping trip last Wednesday. My fault really…I told the oldest to be sure and get some fruit! Here is what he picked out:

I know!!! No, I don’t know. Never. You?

Oh, my goodness… as it went past me on the conveyor belt, I said “what the heck is that?” Bud & Guy both chime in with huge grins, “It’s a dragon fruit!”

“Ok…do you have any idea what it tastes like?”

Guy says, “No. But it’s a dragon fruit mom, and since we’re studying Medieval times… you know… dragons, knights, fights…Who knows, maybe they ate this fruit before they fought the dragons!”

I could see the correlation they were making! It was good, creative, and cute. So, it went on down the belt.

DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH THAT SILLY PINK DRAGON FRUIT COST? $4.00 YES, Four dollars…for one fruit!

Well, I told the boys that they HAVE to eat every inch of that thing after dinner. It would be our desert.

“Even if it doesn’t taste good?”

YES!!

We had to get on the internet and Google it to know how to eat it!

DRAGON FRUIT
DRAGON FRUIT

Pretty good. Texture was similar to a kiwi, but taste was like a, a, I don’t know. Not too sweet, but not bitter or tart either. Oh, I don’t know how to describe it. Go get one! It was at least fun and I guess we learned about a knights favorite fruit!

No…I won’t be buying one again real soon! But glad I did… if just for the memories!

hi-d

Leave a comment

Filed under Homeschooling

Leave a Reply

