What’do ya give me if…

This is a common phrase around here! “What’do ya give me if…?” One of the most disgusting, but most used is… “What’do ya give me if I can eat this whole __________ in one bite?” Fill in the blank with cupcake, hot dog, waffle, you name it, they’ve tried it! Wanna know what I’d give’em if they asked me? I’d give’em a good pop in the head after I performed the Heimlich maneuver! But they don’t usually ask me. They know I frown on such things! Not so much because I am so proper, more because I can think of a whole lot of better ways to go than choking to death on a stink’en hot dog!

Well, today I fell into the “What’do ya give me…” trap! Gerrit asked me this morning what I would give him if he could recite the day, month, and year that Christopher Columbus discovered the Caribbean Islands. We had just watched a C.C. movie yesterday and have been studying about what he went through. But my focus has not been on the date so much… anyone can look that up if you need to. So I thought he was just pulling my leg a little! So, I said (like a dummy) “I’ll give all of you the rest of the day off of school if you can give me the exact date.”

He did.

Gerrit - school year 07-08

I learned more today than they did.

Uh.

Well, one thing is for sure! He will never forget that date! He has now associated it with a triumph! However, I don’t know if that date will be such a useful device in his future. Sure would have been nice if this had been over a key math equation or something like that! But who knows… maybe he’ll be a Historian like his great grandpa and knowing that will be a wonderful piece to his life’s puzzle! Or something.

He has been apologizing ever since then! He knows I didn’t plan to have the day off… and the guilt of tricking his mama is getting to him!! He is so funny. But I sent him off to play and told him it was my own fault! And I’m not going back on my word. He voluntarily said that they would all do their 30 minutes of independent reading before they disappeared into “boy world”. What a guy!

No worries… I got some drawers cleaned out in the kitchen, the dished done, some cooking started, laundry caught up, the turtle tank cleaned and here I am blogging way before dinnertime! Sweet!!

What’do ya give me if I can get all my backed up chores done in a single day?!

hi-d

3 Comments

Filed under Homeschooling

3 responses to “What’do ya give me if…

  1. I take it that won’t be happening again!

  2. You don’t have to specify that you’re not a left. I wouldn’t have shunned you if you were!

    Thanks for the hug!

  3. You are such a good mommy. My kids haven’t started their school year yet. I think Monday. Darn – I have a lot of work to do to get their curriculum together and figure out how to teach a high schooler now. Ugh.

    Susan
    http://www.raisin-toast.com

Leave a Reply

