Boys and Their Dogs…

As you learned in my last post, I am a dog person. I like the loyalty and devotion that dogs give their masters. I’ve had a few wonderful dogs in my life. One I miss very much.

Darren had a Keeshound/Chow mix for seven years and now we have had Jetta – our black lab – for most of the little boys lives, and one of her puppies, Brutus, for four years now. He’s a meathead, but we love him!

Jetta & Puppies 11-04

Jetta & Puppies 11-04

Baby Brutus!

Baby Brutus! He still lays like that!

It was a wonderful time for my boys when those puppies were born! They finally understood why I would alway say “I could just eat you!” when I loved on them! I caught them expressing that same line to those seven little puppies on a daily basis!

Gerrit & JJ in the puppy room

Gerrit & JJ in the puppy room

Harris thought he was a puppy for weeks!

Harris insisted he was a puppy for days on end!

I had my boys watch a movie this afternoon when we got back from the library. We don’t watch a lot of TV or movies, but I am trying to show them some good ones this year that either deal with what we are studying or teach good ethics and morals.

2004

2004

Today we watched ‘The Trial of Old Drum’. It is a good little movie about a boy and his dog, set back in the 1950’s. A few tears spilled, and I knew that would probably happen with one or two of them, but I don’t mind pushing the “emotions” envelope a bit! I think it is good for them every now and then.

January 2005

January 2005

If you are looking for good ethical, moral and uplifting movies for your young ones, this one is a winner. (Although, the twenty year old watched it with them too! Shhhhhh.) The seven year old didn’t fidget around the whole time and ask when it will be over like he usually does. He’d rather be outside with his dog than watch a movie about someone else’s! But it was raining today, so that helped!

Harris & Jetta 06

Harris & Jetta 06

Guy & Brutus 06

Guy & Brutus 06

JJ & Peaches

JJ & Peaches

Harris, Darren & Brutus

Harris, Darren & Brutus

I love to see a boy and his dog.

Or a girl and her dog for that matter!

Heidi & Dasha 1985

Heidi & Dasha 1985

hi-d

1 Comment

Filed under Critters, Homeschooling, The boys

One response to “Boys and Their Dogs…

  1. Wow! Thank you Heidi. And we do have a lot in common!
    I think this is def my new obsession!
    Peace out!

Leave a Reply

