Molding Dough

Day before yesterday, I posted about the boys first states project.

I don’t know if you could tell… but Guy’s tree and JJ’s light bulb were three dimensional. This is just for those of you who like to do fun and messy things. So sorry to the rest of you… sorry that you will not enjoy this… and sorry that you are not fond of fun and messy things!

Well, I thought I would share with you the dough recipe I used for these. I have to admit that there are much easier and neater ways you could do this… but I have had this recipe since high school, and loved making crazy pins and magnets out of it! (I actually sold them. Wish I had pictures of those now.)

Anyway, on with the dough!

This particular dough is made with corn starch and baking soda. It holds up well and doesn’t usually crack and brake apart while drying like some I’ve used. It is a bit tricky at first… but you either find that you really like it… or you hate it. All that is at risk here is a little bit of baking soda (cheap) and even less corn starch (cheap)… and water. Well, lets not forget the dirty pan. That is a lot right there. But try it anyway… you might like it!

My High School Dough Art Recipe

1 cup of baking soda

1/2 cup of corn starch

3/4 cup of cold water

Whisk the dry ingredients into the cold water in a heavy sauce pan (get rid of all lumps) and then cook at medium heat until it forms a mashed potato consistency. Use the whisk until it starts to get stiff and then use a strong wooden spoon (or whatever). It should ball up when you stir it. Dump it out onto a lightly damp cloth and fold it up so as to keep it moist. Put in a plastic bag and put into the fridge to cool.

Now after the dough has cooled enough to handle you can shape it into what ever you want.

For this tree, we just pressed it onto the foam board and let it dry overnight. Then painted it a dark color of green. Then dry-brushed a little light green over the top. You could also seal it with a clear varnish if you wanted.

Be sure the dough is dry before you paint it.

We didn’t glue them on the board, they just dried there. I don’t know for sure how well they will stay, but they seemed pretty stuck on there today! If you don’t have them attached to something like this then you could turn them over half way through the drying time (approximately) so that it dries evenly. That will reduce the risk of cracking.

Try making neat and different shapes and then after painting seal with a clear coat of varnish (you can get this at a craft store), and then glue a magnet or a pin to the back. They make great gifts too.

So there you have it. Dough Art.

If you have questions… ask away! I don’t know if I’ll know the answer, but ask away!!

hi-d

1 Comment

Filed under Art Projects, Homeschooling

One response to “Molding Dough

  1. That is awesome! I remember those days! I was a mom that did: markers, paint, play dough, dirt, sand and anything that was messy and promoted creativeness!

    I look forward to doing these things with Cooper.

    I think it is so cool that you home school!

    Peace out and have a super great weekend;)

Leave a Reply

