I’m Back!!!

Wheeew! What an ordeal to be without ones computer. I don’t like it.

Well, I have it back, and although everything seems different, I am ever so grateful to have it!!

******

I am also done with my critters and the whole centerpiece titled “A Woodland Christmas”. It came out good and the event that it was made for was fantastic this year! I had a great time last night!

trulychristmas08-019-b

Truly Christmas is a fundraiser our church does every year for different charity’s in our community. Ladies in our congregation sign up to host a table for the event. That means that they supply the table settings, the decorations for that table and a small gift for each guest. Then they are also responsible for filling up the eight seats at their table. The tickets sell for 15 dollars apiece and the proceeds then go to whatever charity it is that year!

Oh, and the best part….the men of the church serve us!!

Check out these handsome waiters!

Dad and his boys

Gerrit (12), Dave, and JJ (11 next month)

This was taken just as they were heading over to the church to get their serving instructions.

The men did a good job of serving a huge room full ( about 250 ) of ladies!!

I got an offer on my centerpiece. I told the boys I wouldn’t sell this one…since they love the little animals on it… but I can make them more of those! I think I should sell it if the lady (who I don’t know) was for real about wanting it! And if she is willing to pay the asking price. (which I don’t know either!!!) This is the first year (in seven) that I didn’t want to sell my centerpiece… and sure enough… someone wants it! Go figure.

But really, if I can sell them… it makes my husband happy then I can keep making them! And that is the fun part! Look… I don’t have room for all of these! Awe, now don’t look at me like that…

Well, I’ll shut up now and show you some more photos of the “Woodland Christmas”.

I promised my dad I would have lots of pictures on here today… so don’t think it will hurt my feelings if you get bored and just move onto another blog… I won’t even know!!

start of treeIt starts off something like this…a seven dollar tree from Michael’s.

A not-so-perfect circle cut out of plywood. (Hey, he did it for me so I wasn’t going to fuss!)

Just messing around with what I have to see if I can even make it work. The pink there is builders foam. I love that stuff!!!!

Then it move on to something like this.Got the tree to stand upright!

yaaay!

critters in progressHere is the porcupine in progress. He’s a bald headed porcupine!!

porcupine in progressYes, he took the longest to make. No, I don’t know how long. Yes, those are toothpicks – quartered! And no, I did not know if it would work out or not before I spent countless hours poking them into his naked little body!  It is my own personal gambling habit! I’m addicted. I have an illness.

TC-aI apologize for all the mess in the background. I was so happy that I remembered to take pictures… it didn’t occur to me that I should have had a better background. Oops.

The ladder is made out of cinnamon sticks, the string of popcorn is out of Styrofoam pieces and red beads. I did not make the red cardinals on the tree. I did a  happy dance in the craft store when I found them, because I was totally dreading making that many of the same thing.

TC-b

The orange hearts and stars on the tree are cookie cutter’ed out of an orange peel and dried.

tc-racoon

skunk

tc-turtle

This little bugger is what started it all. I was trying to come up with my centerpiece idea when my son JJ asked me to make him a couple of critters and seeing this turtle gave him the idea of having a bunch of them around a tree! Yes… he has the same illness!

deer

porcupine

beaver

hedgehog

tc-naked bearsAnd then you have the naked bears for the name place holders.

It was funny that each one of them kind’a had their own personality! The one in the front was my first one, and the boys insisted that I keep that one!

tc-name/place holders

And here they are holding their new owners name! The garland was not glued down on the bears so that the beads could be changed to say “peace”, “love”, or “joy”… or whatever they want.

trulychristmas08-013-b

trulychristmas08-014-b

trulychristmas08-022-group

JJ, Sandy, Debra, Emily, Annette, Me (at about 6’3″- with 3″ heels!!), and Gerrit

Thank you to my friends who came and helped support Truly Christmas this year!

All my ladies did not make it into this photo. I let three of them go before I realized that I didn’t get a group shot. :0( Sorry Dee, Diann and Julia.

trulychristmas08me&myboys

And thank you to my boys for showing the love of Christ and giving of yourselves to help others who are less fortunate.

It was a good program and dinner. I always enjoy the evening, and all the work I do to get ready for this is all because I love to make things… not because I have to have a newly decorated table each year. Like I said, I am addicted to it… and this is a good excuse reason to tell the husband, for making a grand mess and spending hours upon hours in my studio every evening and weekend!!

;0)

Hope you enjoyed seeing what has kept me so busy over the last month, and if you have any questions please feel free to leave them in the comments section. The only thing I can not tell you is how long it took. Sorry, I know that is the one question everyone asks! But I choose not to keep track of my time because that makes it more like work! And I choose to think of it as “play”! (Plus the fact that I am up and down so much with this and that,  the kids, the phone… running in to stir something on the stove… I would need a tap stop watch or something!! (And that would be yucky.)

ta ta for now,

hi-d

5 Comments

Filed under Art Projects, Real Life on My Planet

5 responses to “I’m Back!!!

  1. urthemom

    Oh, Hi-d, this is amazing! I am so utterly impressed with your talent and creativity! You are terribly gifted, my friend.

    Thank you for sharing these pics with us!

    Hugs,
    joanne calderwood

  2. Sandy

    Truly Christmas was incredible again! I am so lucky to be at Heidi’s table. It is a beautiful way to begin the Christmas season every year. The bell choir performance and the singer this year were current or former student’s of the church’s school and were excellent. It is a very special community to pull together to do a fundraiser like this – there is lots of love there. Now it is time to get myself and family in gear to determine an action of giving back we can do this Christmas and continue through out the year. Thanks Heidi!

  3. That is sooo cute. My church used to do something like that and the men would serve all us ladies. It was a fun event.

    Glad to hear you’re back in bidness!

  4. I’m glad you are back! I am very impressed with your display (I’m also glad you remembered to take photos—hard to do when in the middle of a project).

    I thank you for your comments on my blogs. And by the way, what a beautiful young woman you are!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  5. I’m glad that the computer is back and that you are back in the bloggy world! Thanks for the questions…answers will be posted tomorrow.

    That’s so cute! It looks like it took a TON of work. You better accept only good money for it!

Leave a Reply

