Think About it Thursday…

Because artistic losses are seldom openly acknowledged or mourned, they become artistic scar tissue that blocks artistic growth. Deemed too painful, too silly, too humiliating to share and so to heal, they become, instead, secret losses.

As mental-health experts are quick to point out, in order to move through loss and beyond it, we must acknowledge it and share it.

Taken from the book ‘The Artists Way’ by Julia Cameron

Are you mourning any artistic losses in your life?

Think about it… It doesn’t have to be a painting. It could be a book idea that didn’t fly, an acting career that ended too soon, a singing career that never got off the ground, writing a play that no one would take you seriously about, not making the cut for the dancing gig, your article doesn’t get picked up for the magazine, your photography didn’t get past the jury for the show… there are endless ways to be an artistic person.

Just wondering.

If you have an inner artist child in you that is hurt or neglected, I recommend this book by Julia Cameron. It is SO good. I am about to start it again. It is just like my permission book to be an artist and be the way I am!

This paragraph on page 180 describes me very well;

“I may be a good cook, a rotten housekeeper, and a strong artist. I am messy, disorganized except as pertains to writing (paintings), a demon for creative detail, and yet not real interested in details like polished shoes and floors.”

I highly recommend it.

Anyhoo… Just feeling like feeding my artistic inner child today!

:0)

hi-d

 

2 Comments

Filed under Art Projects

2 responses to “Think About it Thursday…

  1. Nagisa

    Must be the weather, Heidi.
    I at least always FEEL like start doing something new ( my neglected French study, trying a new recipe..)at this time of the year when it gets to be sunny and warm. Have fun !

  2. I feel like I can’t make headway on any given front, work, play, art.

    Oh, well.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

