Ummm… What the Heck?

Alright… I give. I surrender. I’m waving the white flag.

It just keeps on going… and going…. and going. Like the stink’en energizer bunny.

Yesterday (Tuesday), I was in an automobile accident.

I’m okay. Sore, but okay.

Worst part… it was my fault.

I’m a crumb.

I’m a horrible crumb.

She is okay too… but I’m sure she’s sore as well.

There was no blood or dangling limbs amongst the two of us. So that is something to be thankful for.

No kids with either of us either. That is good.

I was wearing my seat belt.

And I wasn’t on the phone or texting or anything like that. That is good too. Although it almost seems worse that I wasn’t doing something stupid like that. I have no excuse… I just plain didn’t see her.

The officer did ask me several times if I had anything to drink or if I took prescription drugs. Gack!

I don’t drink and then go run errands… that’s just sort’of like an oxymoron to me. But I’m telling you what… I was ready to start tipping them back after THAT! But I restrained myself and didn’t make that crack to the cop. I wasn’t sure he’d see the humor in it.

(I tend to cut up some when in a tense situation. :-?)

I LOVE to drive. I have always LOVED to drive. I take pride in my driving skills.

My confidence has been shaken.

šŸ˜¦

I am trying to get over beating myself up… but I have a ways to go yet.

One of the hardest parts of all of this is not being able to run over to her and tell her I was so sorry. The first person I called – to let them know that I wouldn’t be right there… like I had told them – said “DON”T ADMIT FAULT, whatever you do. Just keep your mouth SHUT.” It killed me. Killed me I tell you. I appologize for a living… I am sorry for things I didn’t have anything to do with… on a daily basis. For me not to tell her that just wilted me. It hurt my soul. It felt all WRONG.

There are many reasons to be thankful. Many. But…

No… there are MANY.

I’m okay. The other girl is okay. My car is fine okay. Life is good. God is good. My kids still have their mama!

I spend a good part of today on the phone with the insurance company. Recounting the event.

Ugg.

This anger will pass.

šŸ˜•

hi-d

4 Comments

Filed under Rants, Real Life on My Planet

4 responses to “Ummm… What the Heck?

  1. Oh, you poor thing! I’m so sorry. I’m glad you and the other girl are okay. The Lord is good!

    Don’t beat yourself up. We all have our moments when we have been dumbfounded as to how we did something unlike ourselves.

    Maybe you’ll have an opportunity to apologize to her at some point – maybe a small notecard or something. That might ease some of the feelings.

  2. I am sooooooooooo glad you are okay! Accidents happen, that is why they are called accidents. Sometimes it is hard to see someone else, it just is.

    Please realize that the bigger things are still there, and you are there, and you will GET to be there for a long time AND NO ONE DIED OR WAS INJURED BEYOND REPAIR!

    Fault is a terrible word, start saying you are Thankful for the blessings in the accident so the accident will become and incident.

    Love You, Dear

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

  3. Oh no, that’s not fun at all! I think I’d have a problem with keeping my mouth shut, too, if I was in that situation.

  4. Oh, and I meant to add, I’m glad that you are both okay!

Leave a Reply

