Eggplant Special

I love eggplants, and especially eggplant Parmesan, but it is quite time consuming to make and I don’t often plan ahead like I should.  😦  So a long time ago I came across a recipe, or made it up, or revamped one… I don’t remember… but I put it in our ‘Newie Boys Cookbook’, so we must have liked it! It’s under ‘Vegetables and Side Dishes’ and titled ‘Purple Veggie Casserole’ for those of you who have the cookbook. But I made it a little different tonight.

In the past I couldn’t use the word “eggplant” because my boys thought it was virtually poison! One even believed he was deathly allergic to it! I proved he wasn’t by making this (or something close to it) and not telling him it was eggplant! He didn’t swell up and he lived!! Thank-goodness! How awful would I have felt if he really WAS allergic to it?

So, I was visiting with my wonderful neighbors this evening and they shared some fresh herbs from their garden with me! I came home and looked for a recipe to use them in. And since I had a beautiful eggplant from my organic farm lady, decided to try this recipe again.

I usually can never make a dish the same way twice. Only because I don’t always have everything it calls for. And I am big on improvising! The bad part is not really knowing if it’s going to be good or not!! But thankfully they usually turn out.

So, here is tonight’s Eggplant Special!

1 onion, diced

1 pablano pepper, diced

3 large cloves of garlic, diced

1 lb of fresh baby portabella mushrooms, rough chopped

Saute’ in some olive oil for a few minutes.

Add:

about 2 Tbsp. capers

some chopped fresh basil

some chopped fresh oregano

some chopped fresh rosemary

about 1/2 tsp. salt

about 1/8 tsp. pepper

(optional – but then again so is just about everything! However if you don’t use the eggplant you may want to change the name of it!!)

1 can of Rotel diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime (10 oz)

1 can crushed tomatoes (28 oz)

1 large (or several small) eggplant, peeled and cubed

Bring everything to a boil and let it cook for about 10 minutes.

Then put into an oiled (spray oil) 9 x 13 casserole dish.

Top:

Sprinkle with Italian dried bread crumbs on top and then enough shredded cheese (of your choice) to cover.

Pop in a 350 degree oven and bake for about 20-30 minutes.

Serve with some good Italian or French bread and fresh a green salad.

***

Sorry I don’t have a picture of it like all the good blogging cooks do… but we ate it!

Hope it turns out as good for you. Please let me know.

🙂

hi-d

1 Comment

Filed under In the Kitchen

One response to “Eggplant Special

  1. Oh, good! I’ll try this next.

    The chicken was delicious!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

