Pear Cake

PearCake1

First of all… before I share the cake recipe… am I the only one that has recipe books and pages of recipes coming out the yahoo… and yet can still want more?

Sheeeesh.

I do have a good system for them… well, sorta. I have a binder that I keep my favorites in. And a good friend gave me a very nice recipe binder to keep the VERY best ones in… but I still pull pages out of magazines, copy out of friends cookbooks, print off the internet, etc…

I just LOVE recipes.

Oh… and then to top it off… I don’t usually follow the recipe. I mess around with it until it just “resembles” the original recipe. Why? I don’t know.

I’d love to just follow  recipes perfectly and not wonder it if will work or not! But then you’d have to have all the right stuff. And I rarely do.

Alright, enough about my cooking issues.

The recipe. You’re lucky… I just made it today so I remember what I did!

It is the combination of two apple cake recipes. But I had some ailing pears… so, either one ya want to use… but I can only verify the pears so far!

Pear Cake

1/2 c. butter

2 c. brown sugar

Cream together. Then add:

1 Tbsp. vanilla

2 eggs

Beat well and add.

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

2 c. all-purpose flour

Mix well, then add:

3 c. chopped ripe pears (or apples)

1 c. chopped pecans (reserve about 1/4 cup)

Grease a 9 x 13 baking pan. Spinkle the reserved nuts on the bottom of the pan and then about 1/4 cup of brown sugar too. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Topping:

While cake is still warm, melt 1/2 c. butter in saucepan with 1/2 c. brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. milk. Bring to a boil. Pour over cake and let it cool.

(I know it’s a lot of butter and brown sugar… but like I said… it’s two recipes combined!! One had it on the top and one had it on the bottom!! I hesitated to tell you I used both… but this is what I did and if I tell you any different it might not be good and I wouldn’t be being truthful! Never said it was fat free or nuth’on.)

Enjoy it with friends, it’s too much for one to eat on their own! But you could try…

🙂

hi-d

4 Comments

Filed under In the Kitchen

4 responses to “Pear Cake

  1. Warmie

    You don’t follow recipes because you are an ARTIST, not a SCIENTIST.

    Edible art, my favorite creative outlet.

    • Ahhh… I like your brain! Thank you!! I needed that! I am an artist… and definitely not a scientist!

      You too, are an artist in the kitchen! What fun we have had – hu? Edible art. Yea!

  2. The pear cake looks and sounds delicious! I love to look at recipe books and I never have enough.

    Do you take the Georgia Farmer and Consumers Market Bulletin? It is a weekly and free agriculture paper. Every week there is a recipe in it that someones submits. I have found some of my favorite recipes from it.It also has flower seeds, chickens, animals, and machinery for sale by people in Georgia.
    There is a link on the internet I believe where you can subscribe.
    If you need it, I can find the info. out of our bulletin.

    Have a great weekend.
    Pam

Leave a comment