Homemade BBQ Sauce

I can’t have you make this exactly like I do since even I do it a little different every time! But I do have a recipe that is my guideline.  One thing that makes it different every time is the ketchup. I have some homemade ketchup that came out more like a cocktail sauce and that is what I have used when this comes out the best. But this BBQ sauce should be good even with store bought ketchup.

Tangy Tennessee BBQ Sauce

2 cups ketchup

1 16 oz. can of tomato sauce

2 cups brown sugar – packed

2 cups apple cider vinegar

2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 1/2 Tbsp. paprika

2 tsp. lemon juice

3 tsp. onion salt (I cut this way down once and added a real onion – chopped fine)

2 tsp. dry mustard

4 tsp. hot sauce (Tabasco) – less or more depending on how hot you like it.

Combine in a heavy saucepan over low heat until well blended. Then simmer for 15-20 minutes stirring occasionally. Cool and put in airtight containers. I like it in neat looking jars. Refrigerate for up to two weeks.

Makes about 6 cups.

You can cut this in half for a smaller family. This recipe is not mine… I just tweaked it a little. The magazine article I found it in said that it’s taken from the book ‘Barbecue Nation’ by Fred Thompson.

So far we’ve used it on grilled chicken, I baked some chicken in it and the boys have used it to dip their chicken nuggets in. It’s more of a hot and tangy flavor than a sweet BBQ like I am used to. But so far has been very widely accepted!

Hope you try it and enjoy it too!

🙂

hi-d

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Kitchen, Things I like

Leave a Reply

