50 – But Who’s Counting?

Eddie… don’t worry about me telling the whole world that you just turned 50. It’s okay – really.

Cuz you don’t look it! (or act it!)

🙂

Well, he was surprised – and I loved surprising him.

It was WAY worth the trip out to California to see his face when he saw me standing in his kitchen!

I hid behind the island while the rest of my family (except for my little brother) surprised him when he came in from work. Then, when he ran into his bedroom to put his stuff away, I stood up. When he came back in, he hugged our mom and then was coming into the kitchen when he saw me. Surprised face – then his hands covered his face – then he called me a “little faker” with emotion all in his voice – as he came over and hugged-the-beegeebers-out-of-me!!

**Sigh**

So Sweet.

Really, it was nice. I made my big bro happy.

He called me a “faker” because I sent him texts earlier that day teasing him about being an old man and that I wished I could be there to tease him more.

A nice evening.

My two big brothers. And Rick got the whole thing on video!

My mom was also surprised! I popped up to her just a few minutes before Eddie came home! That was fun too! Made her cry. I hadn’t seen any of my family out there, except Rick, for almost three years. And my mom is going blind, so it was real special for her to see me before her sight  is completely gone. I am going to try to get my kids out there soon now too.

Eddie and his step daughter Amanda.

Eddie and his wonderful wife Cindy.

My daddy and his precious partner, Carol!

Sooooo glad I was there to help him celebrate this birthday. It was worth everything I went through to get there to see his face… and know that I almost made him cry! I like to make my brothers cry. hee-hee (doesn’t happen very often!)

Love ya bro.

🙂

hi-d

4 Comments

Filed under Birthdays, Something Special

4 responses to “50 – But Who’s Counting?

  1. How wonderful that you were all able to be together for his birthday! I’m sure it meant the world to him. You have a great family!

  2. Oh, what a great surprise visit! You have a sweet family. I’m so glad you got to see your mama as well. She looks adorable. I’m sorry to hear that she is going blind.

    Okay…next time you come out, you might as well, take a little road trip up to Portland! hee hee… 🙂

  3. What a wonderful surprise for everyone! And you got the best gift because you got to see thier faces when you walked in.

    I’m glad you got to see your Momma, Momma’s really do miss thier babies, as you well know.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

  4. Oh, what a beautiful surprise! GREAT photos! How neat that you could do that. (And he does look really good for 50!)

Leave a Reply

