Get Out the Peanuts and Crackerjacks

Baseball season is gearing up!

Harrison had his first little league practice today.

I didn’t take the camera with me… I just sat there for two and a half hours FREEZING. The sun was shining and when the wind wasn’t blowing it felt good being outside, but when that wind whipped up…GEEEEEEZ.

His team is real good. Most of the boys on the team have played for some time already and several of them played together on the same team last spring. This is still all pretty new to Harris and he is now the youngest kid on the team. I think he might have been extremely intimidated today if it weren’t for the fact that his best friend (Tucker) is on the team with him and Tucks daddy is helping the coach out – so he was watching out for Harris too. He used to play pro ball – so he knows what he is doing and can be a big help to the team. Harrison is going to need all the help he can get! He’s kind’of at the bottom of the totum poll so-to-speak. That’s okay and at least it aint for a lack of trying!

Hopefully I will have thawed out by Tuesday (next practice) and will remember to take the camera with me (and maybe a space heater with a reeeeal long cord, a down sleeping bad and some VERY hot cocoa!).

I am so glad that Harrison came out of “retirement” to play again! I don’t know if I told you that story. While Harris and I were cuddled up one time, shortly after Fall Ball was over, I asked him if he was looking forward to Spring Ball. He said (very seriously), “Yea,  about that mom – I think I’m gunna retire from baseball.” It took all I had not to burst out laughing. But I was able to hold it together and ask him if he even knew what retirement meant. He knew. And he assured me that he was done with baseball.

I was devistated. How could this be? I bought him all the gear, BV bought him a new equipment bag for Christmas… and besides… he had said that he would “NEVER” not play baseball!

Upon telling BV (Tucker’s mom) one day she assured me that her older one says that every year after the season is over – but comes back around by the beginning of the next! “Just don’t talk about it until time to sign up again. Then ask him if he wants to play and I guarantee he will play again.” So… I did what she said and that is exactly what happened!

🙂

hi-d

1 Comment

Filed under baseball

One response to “Get Out the Peanuts and Crackerjacks

Leave a Reply

