Movie Monday(s)

We have watched a few movies over the past several months. I just haven’t been real diligent about posting on them. Here are some of them and our reviews.

Akeelah and the Bee

Excellent movie. I didn’t think that the boys would get into this one… but they did and they really enjoyed it. Rated PG.

***

Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story

Great movie!

This one is especially wonderful to us since his brother goes to our church and I have been hearing stories about Ben Carson and reading his books for quite some time. He really is a remarkable man (with an even more remarkable mother)!

And… if Gerrit has to have another brain surgery… we will try to get Dr. Carson to do it.

In my opinion – this is a must see movie. It shows the kids that they truly have no excuses for not applying themselves in life and that there is no end to learning! Not rated.

***

Goodnight, Mister Tom

Good movie. This one was a while back… I’m not remembering what the boys thought of it. I know it was a little hard to watch because of their accents, but all in all a good story and showed that real love can change people and make them whole again. Not rated.

***

August Rush

Very entertaining movie. The kid who stars in this is adorable. It was a sweet story and had the fairy tale ending, but was just that… a fairy tale. Nothing wrong with that… just stating that fact. It was fun to watch and we did think it was a good movie. Rated PG.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

Oh my… this one was EXCELLENT. However… before you get it just know that it is rough to watch. It depicts things that went on during WWII and it has a very… very… difficult ending. Harrison was borderline being able to handle it. It’s rated PG-13 and I think if it weren’t for me pausing the movie and discussing it as much as I did, Harry may not have been able to handle it. All the boys were “moved” by this one, and it lead us into many DEEP discussions for quite some time after it.

Highly recommended.

***

The Soloist

Very good movie. Had some things I wouldn’t have wanted my boys to see had they been any younger, but an excellent story. And like I said earlier – I stop and explain things (much to their chagrin) all through-out our movies if needed.  I like how it wasn’t “fairy tail” like. I guess I like the real life type stuff – and especially when I am trying to teach my boys about “life”. This one defiantly showed that. Rated PG-13. Great movie.

***

Rabbit-Proof Fence

EXCELLENT movie.

Rated PG. It is an exceptional movie. Determination, perseverance and triumph.

***

Music and Lyrics

Although this was a very cute and funny movie – and I just adore Drew Barrymore and Hugh Grant – I don’t recommend it for kids under thirteen or fourteen. It had one scene in it of a female performer who did some “Madonna” moves that I wish my kids hadn’t seen. Not that I can keep them from that kind of thing forever… but the longer the better! It wasn’t awful – just didn’t like my boys seeing (and hearing) it. And the frustrating thing is that they didn’t need to do that. It would have been just as good without that “sexy” stuff. There was no bad language or anything and it ended cute (“fairy-tale”) but I would say it is more for adults. More of a “chick-flick”.

Rated PG-13.

(We have been studying music recently – hence: Music and Lyrics, The Soloist and August Rush.)

***

I don’t know if this will help anyone or not, but maybe someone will get something out of our Movie Monday reviews this time.

“Pass the popcorn!”

🙂

hi-d

3 Comments

Filed under Movie Reviews, music

3 responses to “Movie Monday(s)

  1. Thanks for the movie rantings and your comments. I have a hard time renting movies and watching them because of all the sex and adultry and stuff that seems to be ‘part of the movie’ and isn’t necessary.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com/

  2. Thanks for the movie review! I love good recommendations. I’m going to have to check out Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story. I’ve never heard of that one before.

    I’ve seen, Akeelah and the Bee and really enjoyed that one! 🙂

  3. Oh, you gave me some GREAT suggestions for NetFlix — thanks so much! The only one I’ve seen on there is “Akeelah and the Bee” and we love that one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

