Lasting Friendship

Lily & Ron

This couple has made a huge impact on my life. They were there for me so many times in the past when I was down and out. While I was going through tough times as a single parent. They loved me unconditionally and shared in my joys and my sorrows. Always there with a shoulder, a room, a hug – unfailing support. Never did they judge me, criticize my choices or make me feel less than anyone else – although I was feeling it about myself.  They always encouraged me to be true to who I was and be myself no matter what others thought. I love these people SO much.

Hopefully, most of you have experienced someone like this in your life at least once. I have been most fortunate to have experienced it and kept it all these years even though we are miles apart. I love them. I love them for helping to mold my life into what it is now. The best thing is that we can still laugh our heads off after all these years! Oh, the wonders of laughter! Good medicine.

Thank you Ron & Lily for everything… I don’t know how you are going to be able to wear your heavenly crowns… they will be so heavy with jewels they just might crush you!! No worries – I’m sure God is working on a solution for that as we speak! You may have to have a host of angels around you forever to help hold the things up!!! (There goes your privacy!)

And then there are their girls. MY GIRLS! Little did I know that they would be my only girls!! When I moved in next door to Lily and Ron (oh-so-many) years ago, right before my first son was born, their girls were 3 and 6 – if I am not mistaken. They were precious and sweet and I soaked up every moment I had with them! I became (and remain) Aunt Heidi. Now… they are all grown up and Elizabeth (the oldest) has a baby of her own.

Ryleigh Ming

🙂

Oh what a precious, precious bundle of  smooshy love & hugs she is!!

I am so glad I got to see sweet Elizabeth in her beautiful home with her gracious husband (who is an excellent cook-by-the-way! Thanks for the yummy brunch!) and watch her mother her tiny baby girl with beauty & ease. She is a wonderful little mama and I am only sad that I can not be around to see more of her with her precious baby girl.

About 7 or 8 years ag0 or so, Elizabeth came to babysit for me in Georgia while I had to go back to CA and fight for custody of my oldest son. She handled it like a pro – but it made her think hard before starting a family of her own!! I have no doubts that she will be a terrific mommy. So precious! 🙂

Here are some photos from our day up at Elizabeth & Scott’s house.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I missed seeing Sarah (their youngest) but hope to spend some good time with her on my next visit. Sarah was my little sparkle!! She loved glittery things and makeup! We made up her own little bag of make-up for when she was over at my house. We had fun putting on make-up and doing our nails together. I can still hear her giggle – she lit up the room with here happy spirit! She was a joy – and I will never forget those girl times with her. (Aunt Heidi loves you baby girl!)

Isn’t she beautiful? 🙂

It was a dream come true for me to have that much time with these wonderful friends – but it wasn’t even enough. I’m greedy – I want more. But I am grateful for what I got! Truly I am. (Oh, to be neighbors again… **sigh**)

🙂

HUGS,

hi-d

 

1 Comment

Filed under Our Friends Around the World, Vacations

One response to “Lasting Friendship

  1. Having lifetime friends is just one of life’s greatest blessings.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

