Science Fun With Uncle Ron

After our visit at Elizabeth and Scott’s house up in the foothills, we drove down to Ron and Lily’s house in the Sacramento area – in the same neighborhood where we met 22 years ago! Their house brought back so many memories for me.

Harrison played a couple of songs that he’s memorized for them on the piano.

Then Uncle Ron took Harrison & I over to his classroom at the school right behind their house (he is a science teacher) and showed us all kinds of cool things. Oh how I wish my boys could be near enough to soak up all this wonderful science knowledge from him. It was a so neat.

Uncle Ron started him off with a few puzzles.

Those were cool and got Harrison’s brain juices going!

Then he showed us his pet snake Martha.

I wasn’t reeeeeeeal excited about her – and neither was Harrison.

But he was willing to stand next to Uncle Ron to get a picture with’er!

He even went so far as to “pet” her!

Martha is a python – don’t remember more than that. She has been in Ron’s classroom for many, many years and been in the hands of lots of kids. I think he said she was about 15 years old. (Don’t quote me though) I trusted him when he said she was very tame… just don’t need to “experience” her tameness – if ya know what I mean!

But then Ron asks Harris, “If your mom will hold her will you?” Of course Harrison wants to see THAT so he lights up and say’s “Yes!”

Great.

Of course I did it. I’m no wimp. (Actually – it was only because I trust Ron with my life that I could do it!)

She was neat. I kind’a liked her. I think Martha & I are now friends!

So… Harrison HAD to hold her!!! Heehee! And he did.

Then we got to see a bunch of dead remains of other creatures… like this Piranha!

…and this alligator… head.

… and this bull sharks jaws!

Silly Uncle Ron… that’s a dangerous way to comb your hair!

Then there was a bunch of petrified stuff. Like this alligator scale thingy. Weird hu?

Wood.

 

A sand dollar.

 And check out this amber…

… can you see the tiny bugs in it? This was awesome!

So Jurassic Park!

Oh, and speaking of Jurassic Park stuff… check out this…

That’s a dinosaur egg!! For real! Petrified of course… don’t worry. Although Harrison wanted to try and hatch it!

And here’s some petrified shark teeth.

Those came from an awfully big mouth!

Here’s coal. And he held a chunk of copper and even some petrified poop! Hehe. He dropped that like a hot potato when Uncle Ron said what it was! That was funny – but I guess you had to be there.

Then of course there was the pyrotechnic show! Now we’re talking!! Flash paper and some kind of exploding cotton stuff. Fun. Very fun. A little too fun maybe. I kept missing the shot with my camera and asked Ron to do it again… and again…

Hee hee.

I know. I’m scary that way.

  

Then… off to his high school classroom for the grand finale.

A real elephant skull!

We learned all about this particular elephant and how it was shot because it was a rouge elephant. It was very dangerous and actually was coming after the man who shot it to kill him. The African government hired him to hunt down and kill this “bad boy”. This man had to make his one shot a good one or he was going to die. If you look close you can see the bullet hole in the upper right side of the skull. The meat was used to feed many villagers.

This was just fascinating to me… how their teeth grow and kind of meld into one big grinding tooth, how their brain is not much bigger than ours, how  HUGE their nasal passage is, how much room it has to have for muscles to lift its trunk and head because of the weight of the tusks. How when it runs out of teeth replacements (in old age) it will starve to death. And so much more. It was a very cool lesson about elephants that I wish I could have video taped and played it back here to my other boys.

It was AWESOME.

 I’d like to have “Science with Uncle Ron” every week!

Thanks Ron – for taking all that time with Harrison. He will never forget it. Neither will I.

🙂

hi-d

(P.S. Sorry Ron if i didn’t get all the info correct – was going strictly from memory – since I couldn’t take notes at the time due to the big camera in my hands and the fact that I’d already used the space on my hand to write driving directions! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Homeschooling, Our Friends Around the World

2 responses to “Science Fun With Uncle Ron

  1. urthemom

    Oh, I want to have science with Uncle Ron, too! 🙂 How very, very cool! I felt as though I was right there. Except for the snake-holding part: I took a mental step back at that point. Thanks for sharing all of this with us. So glad you had an amazingly wonderful trip to CA.

    Hugs,
    joanne

  2. Wow…I think I would like to hang out with Uncle Ron too…but I’m NOT going anywhere near that snake. YIKES!!!

Leave a Reply

