I know, I know… but I Haven’t Forgotten About You!

Well, I had a post scheduled to appear this last weekend explaining my absence – but it didn’t. Hmmmm. Sorry.

I am so far behind on the news at this point I really don’t even know where to begin.

Yes… I’ve been stressed and very busy. I feel like I’ve been treading water for quite a while now and I’m tired! But the school year is coming to a close, and maybe this summer I can get caught up and organized like I’d hope to be.

Part of my scheduled post was wishing all you wonderful mom’s out there a very Happy Mothers Day! So… HAPPY BELATED MOTHERS DAY to all of you moms – and mom’s to be!!

My girlfriend Branndan and I were going to take off for the weekend (with our boys) to the beach, but found out that Dr. Ben Carson was coming to our church to speak. We didn’t want to miss that, so we waited until after he spoke on
Sabbath and then hit the road with our 5 boys and stayed until Tuesday. Not sure what we were thinking – spending Mothers Day taking care of our kids – but isn’t that just mothers for ya? 🙂

Hearing Dr. Ben Carson speak was wonderful. He is an amazing man. I stood in line to shake his hand and get his autograph. I longed to talk to him about Gerrit and his Chiari Malformation II – but it was not the place or time. I just hope that if Gerrit does need another surgery that we can somehow manage to get Dr. Carson to do it! It’s, of course, in Gods hands. Having Dr. Carson’s brother at our church may help us out in the future though!

The boys and I had a great time  down at St. George Island with Branndan and her two boys! It was beautiful weather the whole time. The only bad thing about the trip was the fact that my two youngest got VERY burned. They are SO fair-skinned… 70 block sunscreen, hats… they still burned. So badly in fact that their eyes were swollen when they woke up on the third morning. Poor kids. I feel like a shmuck letting this happen to them.

 They are almost done peeling now and will be fine. (Until they’re my age and have to deal with skin cancer.) 😦

***

Harrison played his last baseball game of the season yesterday. They lost that one, but the night before (Friday) they won – and Harrison caught a fly ball out in left field!! He also had his first hit of the season and eventually came in to score! I had started bribing him this week with five dollars a hit – even if it was a foul ball. He needed a push to get over his fear of the batters box! (Being as he was hit a couple of times in there and all.) It worked!! He’s now made 15 dollars! I should have done that a long time ago!

After the game the coach had the kids in a group and asked who should get the game ball. In unison they said “Harrison”! What a night! He was on cloud nine – and his percentage went up to 80!!! (Those of you that have been following Harrison and his baseball percentages this year will know what I am talking about. For the rest of you – you will have to read up on it at that “percentage” link!)

It was a great way to end his season. The game ball will go in a nice case and Harrison requested that it sit beside his trophy from Fall season. I’m so glad he got to have that positive experience. 🙂

***

I woke up yesterday morning to the mother of all migraines. I made it to Harrison’s game, but wasn’t real effective as the photographer that I usually am at the games. It was very hot and I was miserable.

After the game I came home and cried and moaned most of the afternoon. Took some of the “good stuff” (prescription meds) in the evening and went to bed. It was gone this morning – although I felt like I’d been run over by a freight train or something. What a frustrating waste of time that is. I get so mad that I cry. I can’t help it. I know crying only makes it worse – but I just can’t stop. It’s partly anger that causes the tears. I have lots to do and just get behind when I get those. HATE them.

I’m good now – and will try to catch up tomorrow. We still have a week left of school, but am happy to say that we have already completed our required testing and they are ready to be sent back for scoring. I don’t put much into those… but it’s the law… so we do it!

***

Kiki is fine – for anyone who is wondering. She is fully recovered and back to her annoying little self! She is getting along with our two other dogs (outside labs) just like she did before the incident – thankfully. So, the pet life around here is pretty much back to normal. (Although that’s not saying much!) Oh… and that reminds me… we let our beloved water turtle go. I have had a draft saved on that for some time now – just haven’t had the chance to post it. I will do that with photos soon. Jerri is now happily swimming around in a big wonderful lake with others of her kind! She was SO ready to go!

I hope to catch up on my blog reading this week and reconnect with some of you.

Sorry for the long space in between posts lately, but real life will always take precedence over my blog life! But that doesn’t mean I don’t think about all of you often.

Hugs to all,

hi-d

🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under baseball, Chiari Malformation, In The News, The boys, Vacations

Leave a Reply

