Wednesday Already?

I was so sure I’d get a new post up on here before now. This week is slipping by and I feel like I am just hanging onto its tail!

Let me first tell you that the Memorial Service for Joel Fegarido was incredible. Such a wonderful celebration on his life! Our gym was packed. I’ve heard and read that there were between 600-700 people in there, but I don’t know that as actual fact. What I DO know is that Joel made a remarkable difference in this world by his loving and caring nature. Everyone that spoke, had the same consistent theme – “Joel was a man of Christ-like character”. It was a very moving service – One I shall not soon forget anytime soon.

It’s been an ongoing battle in my mind to try and figure out how to transition out of the whole Joel tragedy and into my normal mundane posts about homeschooling and motherhood, and I just haven’t figured out how to it in a good or creative way. So, I will just head right on into telling you that…

Sunday, I made my last-minute preparations for school and also made a good Craig’s List transaction! I found a great table to put in our kitchen bay window. It’s a very nice piece and a good sturdy one too. I need sturdy don’t-cha-know!

Dave and the boys really like it and are pleased to have another area for eating and/or school work.

Of course Miss Lulu is already claiming her favorite chair.

It’s all in very nicely used condition… and I like the fabric on the seats for now, but are easy to change whenever I get around to getting window treatments done for in there. It’s just not a priority for me right now.

Well, on Monday we began our 6th year of homeschooling. I can’t believe it. The boys were great and I truly enjoy getting back into a routine again. Gerrit is now a 9th grader, JJ a 7th grader, and Harrison is in  the 4th grade. Sheesh – where did all that time go?

Some other good “school” news! Darren is now a student at West Georgia University! We couldn’t be more excited for him to finally feel the urge to continue his education and move on from the grocery store job. Of course he will still keep it while he goes to school and we are very grateful that he has it… just not what he wants to do for the rest of his life!

So, here is a photo of him running out the door (well, he’s actually in the pantry grabbing some to-g0 grub here) on his first day! He just groaned when I said “turn around and let me take a picture of you on your first day of school”!!

When he got home that night, I asked him a bunch of questions with a (phantom) microphone in my hand, and at one point he retorts “Geezz, you sound just like my mom!” LOL! But it’s a good way to get info out of him without sounding like I’m grilling him. It’s worked (on him) since he was very little. It started one day when he was five, I remember making and serving him lunch like I was a waitress. I was able to talk with a southern accent and make-believe I didn’t know a thing about him. He really opened up a lot – to my surprise – and thus started our unique counseling sessions! It’s almost funny to me that he is taking psychology now! Probably to turn the tables and counsel his demented mother!!

And here are the other boys at the table on their first day.

We have our worship and breakfast here at the new table. It’s working out nice.

More on what we have begun to study this month in a later post. I must go start some lunch while they are all quietly reading.

Blessings,

hi-d

🙂 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Homeschooling, The boys, Things I like

2 responses to “Wednesday Already?

  1. Karen Peckham

    Hi,
    So you have a 9th grader? Just curious what subjects/curriculum you’ve chosen for him? My daughter is starting 9th grade, and we haven’t started school yet because I’m not quite ready for the new year. I’m trying to decide on her subjects based on what she might take next year if she goes to our academy.
    I know you’re busy, but if you have a minute to share that would be inspiring.
    Thanks,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

