A Little Ditty

When I was about 12 or 13 years old, I was learning how to solemn water ski, on Lake Shasta, from my Aunt Lori. I tried over and over again to get up on that one ski. Aunt Lori was a great boat driver and gave me all kinds of good advice. After every failed attempt she would ask if I’d had enough. I finally told her that I wouldn’t get back in the boat until I’d gotten up on this darn ski. You have to understand… my Aunt Lori had four boys, and my mom had three. See, I was the ONLY girl on our camping trips. I HAD to prove myself.

Bloodied knuckles and a bitten through lip, I finally got up! Once up… I wouldn’t go down! After she had gone clear around the lake, she finally was able to knock me down and while helping me into the boat she asked, “What on earth were you saying to yourself that whole time?”

“The Sixty Dollar Duck”, I said.

I had been trying for quite a while to learn it, and the time it took me to get up on that ski out there alone on that lake… I pretty much got it down! Then as I got older and worked at a summer camp, I would sing it almost every Saturday night for the kids.

 Well, our church had a little talent show last month. It has been a very long time, but I stepped out of my comfort zone and sang it once again.

I was nervous, but had fun and ended up winning in the category of Comedy-Adults. (There weren’t that many entries – so not a huge accomplishment!) I have two friends that made great back-up singers as well! They were so willing to whatever I wanted, and did it wonderfully!

So, I present to you, my version of The Sixty Dollar Duck.

 

I know… I’m a dweeb. But I like to embarrass my kids! Had to add a bunch a’money to the Therapy Jar after that!

🙂

hi-d

1 Comment

Filed under Something Special

One response to “A Little Ditty

  1. That was great, hi-d!!!

    Love your new header, by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

