Trading in House-Work for Art-Work

After a week without TV and internet, and then a week of being “iced” in, I had a lot of time to think, and I realized something about myself. I NEED to create.

With homeschooling the boys, cooking, and all the various household chores… I rarely give myself permission to take the time to draw, paint, sculpt or otherwise create something just for me. Although homeschooling has it’s share of creativeness, and I consider cooking to be quite the creative feat most of the time, those are things that have to be done. 

Over the last few weeks, I’ve produced a few watercolors, and I’m in love with the feeling I get when I’m making something for the fun of it. The painting itself is not the real goal. For me, it’s the wonderful feeling of “creating” that I’m after. How could I have forgotten that feeling? The poor neglected thing. I guess kids… responsibilities… life. Time just slips away.

Well, I’m making a change. I’m not big into New Years Resolutions. Never have been. But I am into goal setting (anytime of the year). So, my new goal is… to give up some house-work for some art-work every week. For the good of the family. Really! You all know, “if mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy”. Right?

So, there you have it. I’m going to try to be a happier person! And quite possibly get a good painting or two out of the deal.

Here is one of the watercolors I did the other day. I hope to share one piece of artwork a week with you. Oh wait. Uhhhh, now that I’ve told you that… I feel pressure. Heavy pressure. Big anvil on my chest. Bad. Can’t breath. Not liking it. Help. Oh… let me just word this a bit differently. Uhhh… how about; I will share with you, on occasion, some of the artwork that I’ve done recently.  Ahhh, yes… that’s much better. *Deep breath*  🙂

My little Chick-a-dee!

🙂

hi-d

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Thoughtful Reflection

3 responses to “Trading in House-Work for Art-Work

  1. urthemom

    I am so happy for you that you have rediscovered the joy of creating just for you!! Your little chickadee is PRECIOUS!! I love, love, love it! Keep painting! (Please?)

    love,
    joanne

  2. How beautiful! You have a wonderful gift, and I’m glad your taking (making) time to do it!

  3. Nagisa, Yuji and Kaoru

    glad you are keeping up what makes you very very happy!

Leave a Reply

