Allergic to Flying?

Is that possible?

See, for the last couple of years, it’s happened that a day or two after I’ve arrived in California, I wake up with my eyes swollen shut and then a day or two later, after the swelling goes down, it turns into a huge rash all over my face and neck. It’s disgusting and really puts a damper on my plans.

(last January)

Well, last May, I discovered that if I take an allergy pill (Claritin) before the plane even takes off, I won’t have that reaction. So I’ve thought that it had something to do with the actual flying. I still don’t really know what it is, but this trip, I took the pill on the plane and was fine. Got picked up in San Fransisco and then spent a day in the bay area, then on up the Napa Valley area for a couple of days and then back to the bay area. So the first four days I was there I had no problems. However, the first night in the Central Valley, I woke up with swollen, runny eyes. I didn’t have near as bad of a reaction as I’ve had in the past, but I defiantly felt the misery of the sinus pressure and the runny eyes.

So, now I think I may be allergic to the Central Valley. Which is not good… that’s where I grew up, and it’s still “home” to me, and where most of my family still lives. 😦

But whatever the cause, the good news is that a little white pill keeps me from looking like a sad, swollen, scary, leaky-eyed monster!

 🙂

hi-d

P.S. This still doesn’t explain the same reaction when I flew to D.C. last year. Hmmm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Real Life on My Planet

Leave a Reply

