Back To Blogging

Wow, what a week!

I have, happily, been occupied this week by the visit of my big brother Rick. We had a wonderful time with him here, and now the boys and I are missing him very much.

He flew out from California on the 14th, then he and I, left for Orlando the next morning. (The boys were NOT happy about this. I was taking their Uncle away from them.) We went down for our Aunt and Uncles 50th wedding anniversary. Our dad and Carol flew out to Orlando for the weekend too, so I got to see them as well. We also got to reconnect with some of our cousins that we hadn’t seen in many years. It was a great trip and a great time with family!

We hit the road after lunch on Sunday and took the back roads up to the Ocala National Forrest. We stopped at Juniper Springs and took a walk and lots of pictures. It was fabulous! I will cherish the time I had alone with him walking in the beauty of that place. It brought back memories of canoeing together in the Florida swamps many years ago.

Here are some pictures from our weekend.

The happy couple.

Happy Anniversary you two!

Rick and Cousin Sandy.

We always have a great time with Uncle Jim and Aunt Erma!

Cousin Sandy, with her two kids Ivan and Allie.

No one can get me into a pathetic-laughing-fit like Sandy can! (Cousin Steve on the right.)

Sandy and I are only a few months apart in age, and have been good friends our whole life. Even though we don’t see each other very often now, we still hook up where we left off whenever we do get together.

My Daddy.

Little Allie, and my step mom, Carol.

Rick, John, me and Kim. Some guys that Rick used to work with. Hadn’t seen these guys in twenty years, and when Rick called them up and told them he was in town, they came right over. Those are good kind of friends to have.

Rick lived in Florida for about 12 years or so. He hadn’t been back since he left, 18 years ago. We got some time before the party on Saturday to go looking for his old house and mine. We found them both! Then we came across an art festival in the little town I lived in. So we stopped and walked around for a while there. It was a beautiful day and we had lots of memories to talk about.

I will share photos from Ocala National Forest later. It’s late and I have a few things yet to do before bed.

Nighty-night!

🙂

hi-d

Leave a comment

Filed under In The News, Something Special

Leave a Reply

