Cock-a-Doodle-Dead

Well… that nasty job is done.

The twelve cute little chicks that we got back in May, grew up to be 8 mean roosters and 4 little’ole hens. Those poor hens were starting to get harassed quite a bit by all those roosters, and in fact they were starting to try to kill each other.

I had trouble getting ahold of the guy who I had found earlier, to butcher the roosters for me. So in desperation, I asked our good friend Larry, (who we just visited last week to harvest honey) if he could help me butcher the beasts.

Well, this morning, he showed up with hatchet in hand!

I really didn’t know how I’d do with the whole “butchering” thing. But as long as I didn’t have to whack their heads off… I was fine helping to skin and cut them up.

(Matt, you would have been proud of me. 🙂 )

It was yucky. It was hard. It was nothing I’d want to do every day. But I’m glad I chose to go this route and have the meat in the freezer. Larry got the livers (yuck) and a big bag of legs and breast also.

The boys… Ahh, the boys. They were totally grossed out and wouldn’t come out to watch. Until the second to last chicken, I made them. Larry had taken out the heart, kidneys, liver…  and testicles, to show them. A science lab right there!

 Look at that heart. Awesome. I cut it in half so they could see the chambers and ventricles. Behind my hand on the left there is the liver. To the right of that are the two testicles. :/ And then those two tiny red deals are the kidneys. He showed them the lungs and intestines in the bird too, but I don’t think they were looking. :/

Look at that heart. I just thought it was so cool.

They didn’t appreciate it.

They couldn’t believe I’d show them something so gross before they even had breakfast!

(That doesn’t sound like something I’d do at all. 🙂 LOL!)

JJ came out early on and took this photo then promptly said, “Okay then… *gag*… see ya!”

I asked Harry to shoot some through our master bathroom window that looks right down on the deck where we were cutting them up.

Here is what he got:

LOL! Larry’s head!

My head!

Better.

It’s okay. It might be just as well that they were blurry shots. Kind’of gross.

He kept trying.

Bless his little heart, I was proud of him for continuing to try to get a clear shot. I’m actually liking the blurry effect now though. 🙂 It somehow goes well with the event.

After each chicken it got easier to do. You can tell that I started having a little fun with it.

Antlers!

The only part I really hated was the cutting off of the head. *Blech.* Yucky.* I only watched him do one.

I’m glad it’s done, and I am happy for the hens to have some peace and quiet now. One of them is still laying an egg every day and I expect the others will start laying soon too. Now that the demons are gone (don’t hate me for hating roosters… I have childhood issues), I will start looking for about four more pullets.

I bet the neighbors are happy now too!

Larry was/is great and I enjoyed hearing his stories and learning so much from him. As he left he said, “We’ll have to do this again sometime.”

And I’m thinking, aaaah… I’d raaaaather harvest honey.

But thanks Larry!

🙂

hi-d

1 Comment

Filed under Real Life on My Planet

One response to “Cock-a-Doodle-Dead

  1. Wow what an awesome anatomy class! Wish I could’ve had my boys there. Next time! When they are bigger we’ll have to find an animal to dissect. I’ll have to say I was surprised at the proportions of the organs. I don’t think I could do the killing or decapitating either, but the rest sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

