PEACE, HOPE, LOVE

As I come “down” from a very busy day, I am thinking of some of my friends.

Friends are such a vital part of our lives. Back when we were in high school it seemed that the amount of friends was the most important thing. You were “popular” if you had lots of friends. And if you were popular, you had value. There MUST be something good about you… look at all the people who “like” you! At least that’s what I always thought… and never quite achieved.

Well, as time goes on and you “mature”, you begin to realize that it’s not at all in the amount. It is in the depth of those friendships that really matters.

A few “good friends” outweigh the “many”… easily. I just wish I could have known that back then.

Now… as I sit and reflect on the friends in my life, I am so grateful for those that have stuck with me, and accepted me just the way I am, through thick and thin. I am grateful for you.

There are those that uplift me and inspire me. Those that are always ready with a hug, a laugh, a smile. Some that are able to point out my “errors” without condemnation, and some that are great listeners. Those that can agree to disagree, and those that are just for hanging out and having fun with. Some, and this number is very small, that I can pour my heart and soul out to, and I know that they aren’t going anywhere. They love me in spite of myself.

Yes, I am grateful for friends. Thank you friends.

I have made some friends through this blog too, and feel as though I know you personally. What I wouldn’t give to be able to spend an afternoon with you!

But my best and most trusted friend is Jesus. No matter how bad I mess up, no matter how awful I’ve been, no matter how far I’ve strayed, no matter what my messed up self is going through… He is there waiting for me to talk to, to lean on.

I am grateful for that Friend the most.

What kind of life I would be living without knowing that I am going to be okay – no matter what comes my way – I just can’t imagine.

I used to think that talking about “Jesus” was corny. But when you get to a certain age, you just don’t seem to be bothered about what others think as much. I like this age for that reason.

I KNOW what He has done in my life, and I am glad that He didn’t give up on me.

He still has His work cut out for Him, but I live in the peace that I am not in the driver’s seat! That is oddly refreshing to me (since I love to drive so much!). As long as I let him LEAD me through this life, I will be okay. I CAN’T DO IT BY MYSLEF! And I am so happy that I don’t have to.

As much as my husband might think that I am “superwoman”… I am NOT.

Everyday starts with the words, “guide me today”. Because I feel like I’m hanging onto the back of a giant rollercoaster most days. Flying around and just hanging on for dear life. Somehow, He gets me through each day. And my goal for this year is that I not just “survive” each day, but “thrive”.

He promises PEACE now. Here. In THIS life.

That is what I want. That is what I want to share with others.

So, as I close this day (of utter chaos)… I pray for peace. Peace through the broken dishes, spilled milk, quarrels, sick pets, piano lessons, attitudes, deadlines, and late nights of studying things I don’t understand. Peace through the pressures of homeschooling, housekeeping, feeding ever-hungry-boys, and piles of laundry.

I found a quote the other day that said “Do less, get more done.”

Sounds good.

But how?

Well, I am going to make a conscious effort to not take on as many extra activities this year. And focus on what I already have on my plate. Maybe I’ll get done some of what I’ve already started.

The most important thing in life lays before me – to parent and teach my boys.

With the encouragement of my friends, the peace from God, and while holding the hand of my best friend Jesus, I head into this year with HOPE.

Hope to thrive, to love, to dream, to create, to mold, to encourage and to have PEACE in the process.

I wish for you the same.

🙂

hi-d

 

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughtful Reflection

4 responses to “PEACE, HOPE, LOVE

  1. Great thoughts, Heidi! And excellent points on friendships too. I struggled with that a lot in school too, feeling like I got along with everyone, but wondered where all the lasting friendships were. Now I feel like the dust has settled a bit and am more content with quality over quantity.

  2. Anonymous

    I love this! Love ya 🙂

  3. Papa

    Beautifully put. Through tears, I’m trying to type this.
    You make me PROUD!!! God will be with you always.

  4. Anonymous

    I like having a freak show friend like you. ;-0

Leave a Reply

