Peeps Goes To The Beach

Remember the tiny chick that I “rescued” from certain death? Well, after spending the night with Big Mama Bonnie, she was alive, but I witnessed that she was repeatedly stepped on (because Bonnie couldn’t see her, and Peeps wanted to be right under her). She fell in the water dish repeatedly, and couldn’t keep up with the other chicks at all.

So, I did what had to be done.

😦

I scooped her up and brought her back in under my heat lamp and now I’m her mama!

🙂

The immediate problem was that I was leaving later that day for a long weekend at Tybee Island with a friend and her two boys. What was I to do with this little, helpless creature? My husband said to just leave her and he would watch her. WELL… it’s not that I don’t trust him… but… I don’t trust him. With this tinsy, tiny, little thing anyway! He is not a nurturer. Plain and simple. And she needed to be “cared for” not just “looked after“. Big difference when living or dying could be determined by a few minutes this way or that, or a few degrees up or down. He did, by the way, “look after” all the other chickens while I was gone – and they are all still alive! 😉

I asked my oldest son to keep her for me and he quickly said, “NO. I would love to help you out, and she is cute, but I don’t want that kind of pressure. If she dies while in my care, you will grill me about every minute leading up to it! No thanks!” He was right.

SOOOOOO, I took her with me.

🙂

I know… I’ve heard it all already.

I will start therapy soon.

The boys argued to leave her and complained that they didn’t want to hear her peep all the way to Tybee, but… whatever. I told them that they will never forget this vacation. The one  their mom brought a chicken on! It would be a great story for them to tell their kids. I was, in fact, doing them a favor! 😉

Actually, she did peep most of the way. Even with the radio on you could hear her.  And, unfortunately, we got stuck in heavy traffic, were hammered with rain, and got lost in the dark near the island. 😦  All of which made a three and a half to four-hour trip into a five and a half hour one. The boys tried to give her water and all, but she still peeped. I heated a neck wrap thingie to keep her warm before we left, but it didn’t last very long.

She was lucky to live through that trip.

So, on the way back we stopped at a Wal-Mart and bought pocket warmers. Worked like a charm! Live and learn. (Not that she will attend any more vacations trips however.) 😉

So, as I sit here this morning, typing with one hand, holding my coffee cup up next to a softly chirping, little fluff-ball on my lap with the other, I can honestly say that she was easier than taking a human baby on vacation!! At least I could leave her in a box while I went to the beach! 😉 

Anyway, here are some photos of her while we were there on Tybee this weekend.

 

The five boys played poker most of the weekend. The husband taught my boys how to play last time we were out there, and they just taught their friends Tate & Tucker. So it was poker, food and beach time. They had a great weekend! 😉

“This is my good side.”

 A Little Queen of Hearts!

 “Mama, don’t leave me.”

 She looks like a normal chick until you have something to compare her to. She is very attached to my hands, and finds comfort in them, just like she would near a feathered mom. However, she finds it a bit frustrating to not be able to burrow very well in between my feathers fingers!

She drew a bit of attention while we waited for those that went up into the top of the light house. I let a little girl (about 10 years old) hold Peeps and have her dad take their picture. Her mom said that after a week vacation in Tybee, she is sure that her daughter will remember this moment above the rest. 🙂 She was a little animal lover!

She is so light that the slightest breeze will blow her off her feet! 

Here is a photo I’d love to add a caption to. Just haven’t come up with one that I truly like yet. If you have any ideas, please leave them in the comments. Would love to hear what you come up with.

Well, that’s all that I have edited.

Soon, I will get back with the pictures of my human kids at Tybee Island. I did take some.

😉

hi-d

 

Leave a comment

Filed under The Chickens, Vacations

Leave a Reply

