Fathers Day Mug

 

 

The boys tried out a craft that I recently saw on Pinterest. I don’t know yet how well it will hold up, but it was fun for them to come up with ideas for a mug for dad on Fathers Day.

I have a special pen that I purchased for just such a thing as this, but I can’t find it. (It might have something to do with the fact that my art studio is a complete disaster area.) But since this link on Pinterest said you can use a plain old Sharpie the same way, we decided to try it.

After drawing what you want on a china dish, pop it in a 350 degree oven and bake it for 30 minutes. I didn’t bake it high enough at first… and then when I did, the colored Sharpies didn’t fair as well as the black. I’d stick to the black next time.

Anyway, after it’s cooled off it should be good to go. Just don’t put it in the dishwasher. I read that it will get messed up in there. (If I could only find that pen… I think that one could go in the dishwasher.) Well, if you have the chance to go out and buy a pen… get the special paint pen that writes on china. I would trust it to last better than this.

(You won’t get Guy’s side of the mug unless you’ve seen the movie Napoleon Dynamite. This is a character from the movie that Guy quotes and imitates all the time! JJ actually drew Kip for him. It’s SO good.)

But honestly, the only thing I know of that is truly permanent is China Paint. I used to do that back in the day. It is my favorite paint medium. You mix this powder with an oil to make your “ink”. I used clove oil… it smelled SO good while I painted! The smell of cloves still brings back great memories. You have to fire it in a kiln though. Which I had. But had to sell it about 17 years ago, after we were married. :( Long BAD story. I won’t go there.

Oh.

I miss it.

Now I’m sad.

:(

I want my kiln.

I saved my money while in high school… and bought it myself.

:(

*heavy sigh*

:(

*shaking it off*

Not going there…

*deep breath*

Okay.

I’m good.

hi-d

 

3 Comments

Filed under Art Projects

3 responses to “Fathers Day Mug

  1. Papa

    Way to go! But I’m so sorry. Some things we can’t change. Love you , Dad

  2. Oh! I saw that on Pinterest too, and wondered how well it would work. Thanks for the “review!” Those boys crack me up…I guess. “It’s probably be the best drawing [they've] ever done.” Gosh. Now I have to watch the movie again.

  3. Anonymous

    I want a kiln! Never had one to miss – but we can want one together!! Better than wanting alone, right? :o)

Leave a Reply

