A New Year, A Fresh Start

Nov 12 B

I would like to deny that another year has gone by, but there is just too much evidence around me.

The boys are bigger, eat more.

We just celebrated our 18th wedding anniversary.

Our oldest just turned 25. The age Dave was when we got married.

And I’ve got more grey hair.

So, since I can not avoid the harsh reality of time, I shall try to embrace it and count my blessings.

New year resolutions were never a huge thing for me, probably since I usually fail at them. But a few years ago I read on a great blog that she was just picking one word to remember throughout the year. I have done that ever since. I like it. It’s simple. In fact, that was my word that first year. Simplify. I wrote it all over, and it did help me to remember that it’s a goal of mine.

This year, I thought about the word REST, since I think I could use some. But I may have to wait until the boys are out of the house for that one.

Then I almost chose STRENGTH, but since I was in therapy for years trying to deal with me feeling the need to be strong and handle everything life threw at me, I thought that maybe that would be a step in the wrong direction. However… I will not rule it out for the future. Lord knows I need HIS strength!

But, after much pondering, I think my word will be…

JOY

Not that I have none, or am unhappy… just that I need continual reminding that JOY is a choice. It is all around me if I will but take the time to look at it. True JOY (in my humble opinion)  is being able to relax and enjoy what is before you. To not worry about tomorrow, or how you will manage your busy schedule. And for me, I need to enjoy my boys in every situation, and not fret over their education and future so much.

There is a lot of weight on the shoulders of a homeschooling mom. Sometimes that weight can take its toll on our JOY. And then you add the state of our country, the economy, illnesses of friends and family, increase in crime, etc…

It makes a mom just want to hide all her little chicks in a hole and never let the out. But that is not healthy. It’s not practical and it’s not what God wants for us. He wants us to carry on in JOY and trust Him to see us through these times. That’s where I want to be. Under HIS wings… not my own.

SO, I resolve to spend more time in JOY than in worry this year, and trust God to give me the strength I need to carry on.

JOY!

But let all who take refuge in You be glad; let them 

ever sing for JOY. Spread Your protection over them, that those 

who love Your name may rejoice in You.

Psalms 5:11-12

A JOYFUL  New Year to you all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughtful Reflection

Leave a Reply

